Lionel Messi launched a foul-mouthed blast at the referee after Argentina’s draw with Paraguay.
Messi and co. were held to a highly frustrating 1-1 draw at home in the South American World Cup qualifying.
But the Barcelona star clearly thought that his country were being hard done by by the referee and his officials.
With the score already locked at 1-1, Messi, who was playing with pain in his left ankle, thought he’d taken the lead in the 57th minute with a cool strike from just inside the penalty area.
However, upon checking a video replay, Brazilian referee Raphael Claus controversially chalked the goal off.
The official deemed there had been a foul on a Paraguay player 27 seconds earlier and with the ball still in the Argentina half.
The hosts then failed to build on Nicolas Gonzalez’s header just before half-time, meaning Angel Romero’s spot kick was enough to secure them what could prove to be a vital point at La Bombonera.
The penalty came in highly controversial circumstances too, as Lucas Martinez Quarta's challenge on Newcastle's Miguel Almiron was deemed a foul, but Argentina were not given a spot kick just minutes earlier for a very similar challenge.
And Messi let referee Claus know at full-time just how angry he was with him.
According to Mundo Deportivo, he told him: “You screwed us twice.”
It has been a hectic season so far – so make sure you don't miss a single thing by signing up for the brilliant new Mirror Football newsletter!
All the latest transfer news and big stories will land straight into your inbox. You won't miss out.
To sign up, put your email at the top of this article or follow the instructions on this link.
Meanwhile manager Lionel Scaloni admitted that he felt VAR was used incorrectly, and stated that he did not think the goal should have been disallowed.
“There's a lot of plays in which (VAR) could have been used today and it wasn't. I am not talking about bad or good intentions,” he said.
“No one likes soccer like this.”
Source: Read Full Article