Andy Murray earns wildcard to US Open

Andy Murray set for first Grand Slam appearance since nearly retiring at Australian Open in 2019 after receiving wildcard to US Open

  • US Open have handed a wildcard entry to former World No 1 Andy Murray
  • Murray could be set for first Grand Slam appearance since January 2019
  • He talked of retiring at Australian Open last year due to long-term hip injury
  • A resurfacing operation has seen him regain fitness over the past 12 months 

Former World No 1 Andy Murray has received a wildcard invitation for the US Open, which is due to start on August 31 amid the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Murray, 33, is ranked 129th in the world, one place too low for direct entry, and could be set for his first Grand Slam appearance since the Australian Open in January 2019, where he talked of retiring due to a long-term hip injury.

He then underwent a hip resurfacing operation and has returned to competitive action with encouraging success over the past year. 

Andy Murray is set to play his first Grand Slam since January 2019 at the US Open

 Murray won the first of his three Grand Slam titles at the 2012 U.S. Open but has not played in an official event since the Davis Cup last November.

Kim Clijsters has also been handed a wildcard spot into the women’s singles draw. 

Clijsters is a four-time major champion and former No. 1 who came out of retirement this year after already being elected to the International Tennis Hall of Fame. The U.S. Open – which she won in 2005, 2009 and 2010 – would mark the 37-year-old Belgian’s first Grand Slam appearance since a second-round loss at Flushing Meadows in 2012.

The U.S. Tennis Association gave all of its other wild cards for singles play to Americans. 

The former British No 1 won his first Grand Slam title at the 2012 US Open

The WTA and ATP tours were suspended in March because of the coronavirus pandemic. The women’s tour resumed this week in Palermo, Italy; the first men’s tournament is later this month.

The U.S. Open is scheduled to start on August 31 without spectators.

Other women’s wild-card recipients: Usue Arconada, CiCi Bellis, Francesca Di Lorenzo, Caroline Dolehide, Ann Li, Robin Montgomery and Whitney Osuigwe.

The other men’s wild cards went to: Ulises Blanch, Maxime Cressy, Sebastian Korda, Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, Michael Mmoh, Brandon Nakashima and JJ Wolf.

Share this article

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article

Create Account

Log In Your Account